Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

Why do I get different results when re-running the HB analysis?

Hello,

I have a ACBC Analysis containing 161 samples. Everytime I run the HB analysis I get differnt importances and utilities. Is this variation normal? For example, for one attribute, I get the overall importance of sometimes 1,64 and sometimes 0,04. If I segment into male respondents (n=129) and female respondents (n=32) I get importances for the attribute of 1,62 (male) and 0,00162 (female) which would give an average of 1,3.

Is this normal? I am relatively new to conjoint analysis, so please forgive me if the answer is obvious.

Thank you very much for your help!
asked Oct 31, 2015 by Matt

1 Answer

0 votes
Dear Matt,

If you use the same Starting Seed (this is a setting on the "Estimation Settings" dialog within the SSI Web software in the HB estimation area, then you should obtain the same result every time (as long as all the other settings in your HB run are the same).  A Starting Seed needs to be an integer such as 1, 2, 3, etc.

But if you use a Starting Seed = 0, then this tells the software to use a random seed each time, and your results will be slightly different each time.

Importance Scores are scaled on a 0 to 100 scale, so the difference in importance score between 1.64 and 0.04 is not very large in absolute magnitude.  It seems to show an attribute with very little or no importance.  

Let me know if for some reason using the same starting seed (1 or larger) and all the same settings in the HB dialogs lead to different results each time.  I don't think this should be happening.
answered Oct 31, 2015 by Bryan Orme Platinum Sawtooth Software, Inc. (147,915 points)