Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

Are there any new developments in anchored MaxDiff?

Hi,

I have a done a few MaxDiff-studies and this site (and your software of course) is immensely helpful! As a survey researcher I am thrilled with the possibilities in this relatively simple tool.

At the moment I am trying to work with the anchoring of MaxDiff to get absolute scores. I have studies both these papers: https://www.sawtoothsoftware.com/download/techpap/dualresponsemaxdiff.pdf and https://www.sawtoothsoftware.com/download/techpap/mdlattery2010.pdf and as I understand it I need to extract both the .cho (with the design) and the.dat (with the best/worst selections), modify them according to the instructions, and reimport them into SSI Web (using "paper-and-pencil"-options in the software). Then I can do the estimation and get scores.

But I am wondering if there is any new developments to how to scale/present the results, since Bryan Orme's latest answer here: https://www.sawtoothsoftware.com/forum.php?cmd=show&thread=1111&posts=6 ?

Thanks for any thoughts or comments!

Best regards,

Esben Michelsen
asked Aug 20, 2012 by anonymous
retagged Sep 1, 2016 by Walter Williams

1 Answer

+1 vote
Thanks for asking about this.  Anchored MaxDiff is something we plan to incorporate into a future version of our software.  

In the meantime, we have written a data manipulation program that can take the .cho file exported by our software together with a matching file that you create with dual-response answers and automatically build the new file containing both information for LC or HB analysis.  This program is available for a modest fee.  Email support@sawtoothsoftware.com if interested.