Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

Setting up Express Max-Diff

Hi,

I am new to SSI Web. I am currently using the version 8.4.8.

I am trying to setup an express max-diff question in SSI. I have read about and tried the following approaches:

1. Using a constructed list for the setup - This seems doable as I was able to set up the problem by creating a parent list of all attributes and creating a constructed list by randomizing and then selecting a certain number of attributes from this randomized list. Is there any other setting that should be taken care of while setting up an express max-diff in this way?

2. Using the method outlined in the Wirth/Wolfrath paper from the Sawtooth Conference 2012 - Though I believe I understand the concept used in this method, but I am having some difficulty trying to understand how to efficiently and correctly implement it in SSI. I especially cannot understand the meaning of the following step mentioned in the paper, "Before fielding the study using SSI Web, the item numbers in the questionnaire versions (which, in our example always range from 1 to 30 in all tasks) must be replaced by the actual item numbers (which, in our example, range from 1 to 100). This “translation” can be done using standard software, such as R." What exactly is the “translation” being talked about here? Can someone illustrate and help me understand it a bit more clearly?

Thanks in advance for any help!
asked Sep 3, 2018 by prashant (180 points)

1 Answer

0 votes