Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

Disable next button until respondent has completed video response

We are conducting a survey where respondents are asked to answer an open-ended question with a video response. A third-party vendor provided a widget for video capture, which I've embedded in the survey, but they also suggest adding some script to disable the next button until respondents have actually completed the video. They have provided some script, but I'm not sure exactly how to customize it for my needs. See the script below.  Apologies that I have very little experience with this kind of thing. Thanks so much.

//DISABLE THE NEXT BUTTON WITH THE APPROPRIATE FUNCTION FROM YOUR SURVEY SYSTEM
disableNextButton();

//this code is used to listen for events from the iframe
var eventMethod = window.addEventListener ? "addEventListener" : "attachEvent";

var eventer = window[eventMethod];
var messageEvent = eventMethod == "attachEvent" ? "onmessage" : "message";

// Listen to message from child window (iframe)
var onlyStrings = false;

try {
    window.postMessage({toString: function () {
       onlyStrings = true;
    }}, "*");
} catch (e) {
}

eventer(messageEvent, function (e) {
    if (e.data) {
        var eventData = {};
        if (typeof e.data === 'string' && onlyStrings) {
            eventData = JSON.parse(e.data);
        }
        else {
            eventData = e.data
        }
        var showNextButton = [
            "response_complete"
        ];
        var currentEvent = showNextButton.indexOf(eventData.event);
        if (currentEvent >= 0) {
            //ENABLE THE NEXT BUTTON WITH THE APPROPRIATE FUNCTION FROM YOUR SURVEY SYSTEM
            enableNextButton();
        }
    }
}, false);
asked Oct 27, 2016 by anonymous