Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

How do I refer to CBC attributes/levels in Perl?

I'm trying to figure out how I can get the displayed level values of each attribute for each option in a CBC exercise in Perl. Basically, if this is the particular randomized task a respondent is looking at:

Option 1                 Option 2                 Option 3
Attribute 4 |     Level 2          |         Level 1           |          Level 1       |

I want to be able to know that they're seeing level 2 for attribute 1 in option 1.

I have no experience with Perl specifically and very little experience doing anything more complicated in SSI, so I'm a little lost looking through some of the documentation. The exercise is called "CBC," so I tried using CBCAttributeValue("CBC",1,1) to get the value of the level for option 1, attribute 1, but that didn't work out, so I'm reaching out here for help.
asked Jun 30, 2016 by ldulude (205 points)

2 Answers

+2 votes

Best answer
I think you want to use CBCDesignLevelText or CBCDesignLevelValue.  The former will return the text of the level; the latter will return the position of the level.  Here's an example of each in SSI Script:

[% CBCDesignLevelText(CbcExer_Random1, 1, 1) %]
[% CBCDesignLevelValue(CbcExer_Random1, 1, 1) %]

Or how they would be used in unverified Perl:

CBCDESIGNLEVELTEXT('CbcExer_Random1', 1, 1)
CBCDESIGNLEVELVALUE('CbcExer_Random1', 1, 1)

In either case, "CbcExer" should be replaced with the exercise name and "Random1" should be replaced with the current question in the exercise.

If you tell me more about what you need this Perl code to do, I'd be happy to help you write up the code.
answered Jun 30, 2016 by Zachary Platinum Sawtooth Software, Inc. (121,725 points)
selected Jun 30, 2016 by ldulude